◀ top stories
 

EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading WhatsApp data

Original story at Reuters• 25 mentions • 1 month ago

Reuters 1 month ago

 
BRUSSELS European Union antitrust regulators on Thursday said they would fine Facebook 110 million euros ($122.4 million) for providing misleading information over its purchase of messaging service WhatsApp in 2014. Calling it a "proportionate and deterrent fine," the European Commission, which acts as the EU's competition watchdog, said Facebook had said it could not automatically match user accounts on its namesake platform and WhatsApp but two years later launched a service that did exactly that. "The Commission has found that, contrary to Facebook's statements in the 2014 merger review process, the technical possibility of automatically matching Facebook and WhatsApp users' ...
 
 
◀ top stories
 

What they're saying:

23 May
Idenhaus Consulting @Idenhaus
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over #WhatsApp deal https://t.co/bkEQXVBaPz via @Reuters #privacy #security
22 May
I've Been Mugged @IveBeenMugged
#EU regulators fined @facebook 110 million euros over #WhatsApp deal. https://t.co/6IGYOWxjuX #Europe #Facebook #socialmedia #socialnetwork
18 May
Michael Fauscette @mfauscette
EU fines #Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal | Reuters https://t.co/tcB63PtI0D https://t.co/XogGT8idU2
18 May
John Koetsier @johnkoetsier
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading info in WhatsApp deal https://t.co/SusRRGpbEL #facebook #whatsapp #socialmedia
18 May
Neville Hobson @jangles
#EU fines #Facebook 110 million euros over #WhatsApp deal https://t.co/6KzvrmgMxq via @Reuters
18 May
Privacy Divas @privacydivas
RT @edri: Wow - EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading #WhatsApp data https://t.co/TEXt9TyYcl #privacy
18 May
Ronald Gruia @rgruia
#EU fines @Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal https://t.co/IBKW4BUo6K via @Reuters https://t.co/zM5WchThTp
18 May
Autom Tagsa @autom8
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal https://t.co/CwJ8M6KNll via @Reuters
18 May
Reuters Legal @ReutersLegal
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal https://t.co/QckBjkFyHd https://t.co/BBLrGo0Zs9
18 May
Privacy Executives @PrivacyExec
RT @Reuters: EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading WhatsApp data https://t.co/IhFtMpuUWx https://t.co/33YBZrHIPC
18 May
Reuters UK @ReutersUK
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal https://t.co/eNyYnF6t2p https://t.co/byDytKEjPz
18 May
Access Now @accessnow
RT @edri: Wow - EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading #WhatsApp data https://t.co/TEXt9TyYcl #privacy
18 May
Reuters Business @ReutersBiz
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal https://t.co/idMblyVWpa https://t.co/j5Fkou5HQe
18 May
Andreas Weigend @aweigend
This is exciting: The only language Facebook and Uber seem to understand are fines: 122 million USD for WhatsApp lie https://t.co/sVWK1K92zK
18 May
Open-Xchange @openexchange
EU antitrust regulators fined #Facebook 110m € for giving misleading information over #WhatsApp deal https://t.co/f2548so9Lx
18 May
M3VOY @M3VOY
Top story: EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal | Reuters https://t.co/LebRaFig2V, see more https://t.co/8H1YMW97OI
18 May
Frank Langenfeld @FELDart
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal https://t.co/1kAqaA73nS via @Reuters
18 May
iPad fans @iPadfans
iPad news: EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over WhatsApp deal - Reuters https://t.co/hnz8GC5z9j
18 May
AskMySite @AskMySite
#EU fines #Facebook 110 million #Euros over #WhatsApp #deal || https://t.co/lBMQVCqo34
18 May
Joe Pettit @joepettit2
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading WhatsApp data https://t.co/4iGE4NfZdN via @Reuters
18 May
Mahmoud A Wardeh @lurnid
RT @edri: Wow - EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading #WhatsApp data https://t.co/TEXt9TyYcl #privacy
18 May
Reuters Top News @Reuters
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading WhatsApp data https://t.co/IhFtMpuUWx https://t.co/33YBZrHIPC
18 May
EDRi @edri
Wow - EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading #WhatsApp data https://t.co/TEXt9TyYcl #privacy
18 May
Reuters Science News @ReutersScience
EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading WhatsApp data https://t.co/NUMo3AtzGU https://t.co/c4USA2efHX
18 May
Glyn Moody @glynmoody
RT @fabiochiusi: EU fines Facebook 110 million euros over misleading WhatsApp data https://t.co/DQPQNiXCh1 via @Reuters