◀ top stories
 

Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem'

Original story at Business Insider• 37 mentions • 2 months ago

Business Insider 2 months ago

 
I've been haunted by a claim my KCRW colleague Rich Lowry made on our radio show a few weeks ago: That Democrats keep coming up short in elections because they won't give any ground on "cultural issues" to win back the working-class voters they've alienated over the past decades. On one hand, it's obviously true that Democrats suffer from a cultural disconnect from non-college voters who have abandoned the party in droves. Democrats believe their economic agenda should appeal to people with lower incomes, yet income has become a poor predictor of partisan alignment; Democrats' substantial inroads with upscale suburban ...
 
 
◀ top stories
 

What they're saying:

11 Aug
Steve Elliott @alapoet
RT @a35362: Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' https://t.co/MPob08raKR https://t.co/fu
01 Aug
Katherine Scott @kscottz
I don't agree with all of this but there are some good points. I've been calling it San Francisco puritanism. https://t.co/14468a7K1e
20 Jul
David Cohn @Digidave
The Right used to be moral busy-bodies. Now it's often the Left. https://t.co/aILepgHXXA https://t.co/LtyRtjlN3G
19 Jul
Jacques Yerby @tshewang
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' https://t.co/InQPuRpmVR
19 Jul
██████████ @thaitvnews
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' - Business Insider https://t.co/GgL6iRF7Q8
19 Jul
Dirk Lester @Dirk2112
RT @jbouie: This is one of those things that owes itself to the nationalization of local controversy. https://t.co/8cwiidXcI2
18 Jul
Ferg @christoferguson
Liberals have supplanted conservatives as moralizing busybodies & it's annoying the crap out of US voters https://t.co/0FKZZpF4vX
18 Jul
This American Adam @adamconner
RT @mekosoff: i think the complaints this article will invariably generate will largely prove its thesis https://t.co/UCk1dnPAbj
18 Jul
Ryan Avent @ryanavent
I think @jbarro is wrong here. https://t.co/iYRDllt1st Or at least vastly overstating the problem.
18 Jul
Annie Lowrey @AnnieLowrey
I agree with a lot of this, but think the idea that conservatives are all "live-and-let-live" is bananas. https://t.co/DGDh3xq13R
18 Jul
Jamelle Bouie @jbouie
This is one of those things that owes itself to the nationalization of local controversy. https://t.co/8cwiidXcI2
18 Jul
Nicholas Carlson @nichcarlson
RT @martinvars: Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying https://t.co/SDpx5pk1X5
18 Jul
Martin Varsavsky @martinvars
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying https://t.co/SDpx5pk1X5
18 Jul
Joe Weisenthal @TheStalwart
If you like this @jbarro post then you're right wing. If you dislike it, you're left wing. There's no third option. https://t.co/QHGCSTuoGt
18 Jul
Gabriel Snyder @gabrielsnyder
First fancy foreign cold cuts, now hamburgers: sandwiches are the new cab drivers. I blame Uber. https://t.co/6XYleUJRg4
18 Jul
🗽Jeffrey Levin 🗽 @jilevin
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' https://t.co/zJWML8i8ys
18 Jul
Paul Denlinger @pdenlinger
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' https://t.co/tcDUoumhYu via @
17 Jul
Jack Shafer @jackshafer
"No item in your life is too big or too small for this variety of liberal busybodying." @jbarro https://t.co/XCt2qY5SeQ
17 Jul
Privacy Camp @PrivacyCamp
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying - Business Insider https://t.co/X6SosHQcet
17 Jul
Shaun Dakin @IsCool
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying - Business Insider https://t.co/aQZfMUiUOj
17 Jul
Austin Flack @austinflack
👍🏻 “Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying” https://t.co/VOytOLxK5r
17 Jul
Bruce Bartlett @BruceBartlett
I think Josh Barro attacks a caricature of the left, but I hear many Democrats echo his critique re culture. https://t.co/PqC0X6u5aI
17 Jul
MiketheMadBiologist @mikethemadbiol
RT @nomoremister: "Hey, let's tone-police Democrats about how much they tone-police other people." https://t.co/JWgoNmlTvB @jbarro
17 Jul
happy/tired alex @alex
Oh man the comments are going to be epic https://t.co/93lj9qJpm0
17 Jul
Stephen Miller @miller_stephen
RT @mekosoff: i think the complaints this article will invariably generate will largely prove its thesis https://t.co/UCk1dnPAbj
17 Jul
Henry Blodget @hblodget
RT @PamEngel12: This @jbarro column perfectly encapsulates why many voices on the left have become so annoying https://t.co/SljOyLEwI8 http…
17 Jul
Christopher Mims🤳 @mims
RT @mekosoff: i think the complaints this article will invariably generate will largely prove its thesis https://t.co/UCk1dnPAbj
17 Jul
Analytics News @analyticsprnews
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' https://t.co/RmnmSkzNb3https://t.co/OiXQ9P74RX
17 Jul
BISoftwareNews @BISoftwareNews
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' https://t.co/ik7LjI5gRShttps://t.co/5xPVcgk4yI
17 Jul
Finance News @financeprnews
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' https://t.co/9DWo3QqDwUhttps://t.co/AmVR17iL1V
17 Jul
Business Insider @businessinsider
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying and fix their 'hamburger problem' https://t.co/wueyrWn8ZV https://t.co/YH1AxTxETW
17 Jul
Michael @michaelbmahan
RT @PamEngel12: This @jbarro column perfectly encapsulates why many voices on the left have become so annoying https://t.co/SljOyLEwI8 http…
17 Jul
Zac Cichy @zcichy
Really good, thoughtful piece about the issues facing liberalism: https://t.co/yIQGXe4BXa
17 Jul
Jonathan Chait @jonathanchait
Sensible thoughts here by @jbarro on how liberal sanctimony is a problem, and what Democrats can do about it https://t.co/nkyYeaOlcC
17 Jul
Josh Barro @jbarro
Liberals can win again if they stop being so annoying. My diagnosis of the "hamburger problem" and how to fix it: https://t.co/3qyFAOv2uj