◀ top stories
 

Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88

Original story at nytimes.com• 64 mentions • 5 months ago

nytimes.com 5 months ago

 
Poetic and profane, softhearted and unforgiving, Mr. Breslin inspired every emotion but indifference; letters from outraged readers gladdened his heart. He often went after his own, from Irish-Americans with “shopping-center faces” who had forgotten their hardscrabble roots to the Roman Catholic Church, whose sex scandals prompted him to write an angry book called “The Church That Forgot Christ,” published in 2004. It ends with a cheeky vow to start a new church that would demand more low-income housing and better posture. Love or loathe him, none could deny Mr. Breslin’s enduring impact on the craft of narrative nonfiction. He often ...
 
 
◀ top stories
 

What they're saying:

01 Apr
Ray Pride @RayPride
RT @amywebb: "Don't trust a brilliant idea unless it survives the hangover." - Jimmy Breslin https://t.co/QELvT2NSbA https://t.co/QauMDuve
23 Mar
Jess Sand @sDesignLabs
What an obit. They don't cut 'em from this kind of cloth anymore. https://t.co/lVRqL5ej0y
22 Mar
David McDonald @davemac
I'd never heard of him, but his obit is a great read: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary NYC Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/bjAdQU8QWm
21 Mar
SMJC @OnHomeCourt
Jimmy Breslin Dies@88 & "until very recently, was still pushing somebody’s buttons w/ 2-finger jabs at his keyboard" https://t.co/HOZpzE7X9d
21 Mar
Jude LaCava @judefox10
RT @MoseBell: The famous #jimmybreslin https://t.co/6arJsz4ek8
20 Mar
Thomas Lin @7homaslin
Jimmy Breslin "created his own distinct rhythm in the hurly-burly music of newspapers." https://t.co/QHmf5syKon
20 Mar
Allison Arieff @aarieff
“Rage is the only quality which has kept me, or anybody I have ever studied, writing columns for newspapers.” https://t.co/qfR9F6Cxp5
20 Mar
Chris Marino @chris_marino
What's the @Germanwordfor being sad someone died, but looking forward to reading great @nytimes obit? https://t.co/3zJ4UR2EZh
20 Mar
QTip @QtipTheAbstract
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 - The New York Times https://t.co/qmGB3zP19B
20 Mar
Michael W. Pfaffl @GeneQuan
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 - https://t.co/Ml0Ihtf2yL https://t.co/KYAHPdjZLM
19 Mar
HUMMEDIA @HUMMEDIA
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88. https://t.co/7axLQ8sfXW
19 Mar
paul mooney @moon
Jimmy Breslin, a New Yorker with a billion dollar memory has died, age 88 https://t.co/FPpLjNBhI2
19 Mar
James Frost @jamesafrost
RT @rharris334: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/8c18PuLx3v
19 Mar
Nancy Miller @nancefinance
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/60dYH0ZdFW
19 Mar
Joe McGaha @bourbonroad
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/9vax7Rtejz
19 Mar
𝚕𝚘𝚞𝚍𝚎𝚛𝚜𝚘𝚏𝚝 @loudersoft
Two parallel eras of culture are ending with the passages of the people who defined them. Jimmy Breslin was of them. https://t.co/QogNod7dI4
19 Mar
Harold Deeming @i4harold
Top ReTweeters story: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnis… https://t.co/pSe6zO3Tbr, see more https://t.co/ZgLGW7Z8sc
19 Mar
hl @Forga05
Latest headlines: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, D… https://t.co/a6mtIkqq9E, see more https://t.co/t2Gp7slv5l
19 Mar
Faizi Design, LLC @FaiziDesign
Design trends and styles by Omer Faizi Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City N… https://t.co/7sFta1On4n, see more https://t.co/uH699YiJoM
19 Mar
Enrique @Joolio12
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/BOVWZN73BK, see more https://t.co/f8J6zIGV5x
19 Mar
Shelf Awareness @ShelfAwareness
Jimmy Breslin, NYC newspaperman and bestselling author, has died at age 88 https://t.co/1ZlY7Si5mI
19 Mar
marcel pacatte @mpacatte
RT @nightreporter: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/TAQZlbTr3n
19 Mar
Michael Luo @michaelluo
.@DanBarryNYT has some poetry of his own in his Breslin obit. https://t.co/8D0CjqXZuC https://t.co/0zavg7hzwm
19 Mar
Ira Socol @irasocol
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/CC7RqiT27P
19 Mar
Zachary Woolfe @zwoolfe
RT @coopnytimes: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/sW0XSxQy0O
19 Mar
Rohan Pinto @RohanPinto
Top story: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at … https://t.co/gQ0wD7Yzgc, see more https://t.co/596AxTWiId
19 Mar
Dolly Bhasin @dbhasin
Top story: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at … https://t.co/yx7ZxB7TZe, see more https://t.co/cBB8ImyFqU
19 Mar
EDUBEAT @Edubeat
Top story: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at … https://t.co/XPtQ76qqDg, see more https://t.co/lrJHrIJLsd
19 Mar
iTECH @pingmicro
Top story: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at … https://t.co/FhPtF2OfRJ, see more https://t.co/mEDOtKSFR3
19 Mar
Derrick Goold @dgoold
RT @paulschwartzman: The man who wrote, "The Gang that Couldn't Shoot Straight" -- and other prophetic titles https://t.co/pwq5gPoRtX
19 Mar
Business Ventures @Gates_Ventures
Top story: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at … https://t.co/M94m6UlewX, see more https://t.co/eUwnaa6WP5
19 Mar
garry pierre-pierre @GPPhaiti
RT @RayBoomhower: "Anything that isn't writing is easy." Jimmy Breslin, RIP https://t.co/9SPJ2LrA9z https://t.co/dL0zgDNUki
19 Mar
The Gentleman FF @Citywide_MSVP
RT @RayBoomhower: "Anything that isn't writing is easy." Jimmy Breslin, RIP https://t.co/9SPJ2LrA9z https://t.co/dL0zgDNUki
19 Mar
Cynthia White @dearcynthia
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/WhP2KQ4n95 RIP
19 Mar
Mark B. Spiegel @markbspiegel
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/hzEsLHG4rI *THIS* IS A REAL NEWSPAPERMAN'S OBITUARY. RIP
19 Mar
Maria Sacchetti @mariasacchetti
RT @RayBoomhower: "Anything that isn't writing is easy." Jimmy Breslin, RIP https://t.co/9SPJ2LrA9z https://t.co/dL0zgDNUki
19 Mar
Jill Geisler @JillGeisler
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 - The New York Times https://t.co/7UtXryOauv https://t.co/oEOMooUmHt
19 Mar
Bill Koenig @BillKoenig
RT @pkhoury_nyt: Another giant leaves the party: https://t.co/vMA5Diuwh1
19 Mar
A. Jay Adler @thesadredearth
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/WiY8lc3Nuh https://t.co/UhiROBr0UB
19 Mar
Gerry Regan @gerregan
The legendary Irish-American columnist Jimmy Breslin has passed away at age 88.... https://t.co/BeN1dFor54
19 Mar
David Negrin @david_negrin
He was a reporter. I've been writing a biopic tv series on Jimmy, a hero of mine & my family. We lost him today. https://t.co/d9xb5lVWXw
19 Mar
Jamil Smith @JamilSmith
"Rage is the only quality which has kept me, or anybody I have ever studied, writing columns for newspapers." https://t.co/YwshUxmgS8
19 Mar
AsianAmericanLegal @aaldef
Journalist Jimmy Breslin has died, https://t.co/09QcVHzLhq
19 Mar
Pete Wells @pete_wells
"Avoid the media scrum gathered around the winner, he would advise, and go directly to the loser’s locker." https://t.co/ucku39dwNm
19 Mar
Lylac Muse @lylacmuse
RT @davidwchen: .@DanBarryNYT on how the incomparable Jimmy Breslin changed reporting, forever https://t.co/syrRWlSKB2 https://t.co/LySXOjm
19 Mar
Gothic Films @gothicfilms
RT @rolandsmartin: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/NBcsm6W15D https://t.co/5Xcj4Rq7Uc
19 Mar
Víctor Manuel Ramos @vmramos
Jimmy Breslin dies at 88: “Rage is the only quality which has kept me ... writing columns for newspapers.” https://t.co/irHfX2mZw7
19 Mar
Henry Fountain @henryfountain
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/e6lLAqW4TI
19 Mar
Adene Balzer @AdeneB
RT @rolandsmartin: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/NBcsm6W15D https://t.co/5Xcj4Rq7Uc
19 Mar
JUAN ANTONIO GINER @GINER
Muere Jimmy Breslin, una leyenda periodística neoyorquina https://t.co/P5VhAKAVS3
19 Mar
Trend Style Daily @TrendStyleDaily
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 - New York Times New York Times Jimmy Bre… https://t.co/I8NzfJPHHI
19 Mar
rolandsmartin @rolandsmartin
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/NBcsm6W15D https://t.co/5Xcj4Rq7Uc
19 Mar
Ram Ramgopal @RamCNN
RT @lisatozzi: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/LLiYTUF4Rl
19 Mar
Mark McCaw @bigpicguy
RT @DavidGrann: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/yKo60NwMQ3
19 Mar
Katie Rogers @katierogers
RT @pkhoury_nyt: Another giant leaves the party: https://t.co/vMA5Diuwh1
19 Mar
Adam Feuerstein @adamfeuerstein
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/g5XwSVr1dJ
19 Mar
Karlin Lillington @klillington
RT @coopnytimes: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/sW0XSxQy0O
19 Mar
Patrick LaForge @palafo
"brick-hard words and a jagged-glass wit" https://t.co/nnTIDosh8L
19 Mar
Tom Vanderbilt @tomvanderbilt
RT @DavidGrann: Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/yKo60NwMQ3
19 Mar
Michael Cooper @coopnytimes
Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/sW0XSxQy0O
19 Mar
Gwen Wynne @bellwynne
RIP Jimmy Breslin, Legendary New York City Newspaper Columnist, Dies at 88 https://t.co/yyIFw9GSam